Media
Center
CFCG and quality education enterprises in ASU+GSV global education technology summit promoting Sino-foreign education exchange and cooperation

2018.04.24

Recently, the 9th “ASU+GSV” global education technology summit was successfully held in San Diego of United States. As a high level education technology event in United States and globally, the summit was attended by people from various sectors including entrepreneurial elites, business leaders, education policy makers, philanthropists, distinguished educators, renowned university presidents, where cooperation opportunities and the latest trends in global education is explored.

Guest speakers of ASU+GSV this year includes George W. Bush, the 43rd President of the United States; Arne Duncan, shareholder of Emerson Collective and formerly United States Secretary of Education; Michael Moe, founder of GSV and renowned investor of Silicon Valley; John Kao, professor of Harvard Business School and author of bestseller while the number of attendees was close to 4,000, breaking the record of the event. Among the attendees were Mainland education organisations including New Oriental, TAL, CFCG, DaDaABC, Liulishuo(英語流利說), Sunny Education(一起作業). In-depth discussions were held on topics such as China's education market, Sino-foreign education cooperation, and local innovation models of China's education market, attracting the attention of the sector.

From left: AdiIgnatius, Editor-in-Chief of Harvard Business Review; He Qingrong, Deputy CEO of CFCG; 李玫, Dean of School of Entrepreneurship and Management of ShanghaiTech University; 黃琰, CTO of TAL, Rick Levin, former President of Yale University, 肖盾, joint founder of Sunny Education.

Business leaders discussed future opportunities in education and innovative forces converged in sessions dedicated to China

George W. Bush, the 43rd President of the United States, emphasized the importance of education development in the opening ceremony, “We hope to guarantee education opportunities for all and the quality of their education so that education equality is enhanced”. Arne Duncan, formerly United States Secretary of Education, gave an in-depth analysis of global education policy and development trend of education mobilization, saying there is a need to make use of these “new forces” in education.

Rick Levin, senior consultant of Coursera, formerly CEO and President of Yale University said, “China education enterprises are starting to have multifaceted cooperation with United States, while we also hope to enter the education market in China and seek more opportunities through various ways such as joint ventures.” Michael Moe, founder and CEO of GSV, also said, “China is full of opportunities and the future opportunities are in China”.

In this year’s event, China’s presence is seen in many ways: roundtable forum on “One Belt One Road”, dedicated exhibition area and sub-forum on China. The strategic layout of China’s education in investment allocation, management system, standard setting and teacher training, is gradually moving towards the “complete internationalization” of education.

Site visits to innovative schools promoting Sino-foreign education business exchange and cooperation

The overall education market scale of China is over US$13,000 in 2017 and the rapid growth is maintained at above 10%. The enormous size of the market in China provides a wider room of imagination for Sino-foreign education cooperation. In February this year, the British Prime Minister, Teresa May, signed a series of education cooperation agreements in her three-day first visit to China, ushering in opportunities for internationalization of education in China.

In order to promote Sino-foreign business exchange and cooperation as well as precise grasping of global education resources and to explore future education development models, CFCG launched “2018 new in-depth development - customized business development and financing services” during the ASU+GSV summit. In addition to participating in the global top education technology event, Mr. He Qingrong, CEO of CFCG and his team paid site visits to renowned innovative education organizations in San Francisco, Silicon Valley and San Diego, such as AltSchool, High Tech High and Design Tech High School, with quality education organizations and enterprises to learn and explore the new curriculum, products and schooling models of innovative schools.

The fourth from the right: Larry Rosenstock, Founder and CEO of High Tech High

During the visit to High Tech High innovative school, its founder Larry Rosenstock talked about the reason for founding the school. Before working on the school, he was a risk investor for 25 years in which he observed that machine automation and artificial intelligence are advancing and the changes that will bring about in the future are hard to imagine for all. At the same time, the new technology is eating away millions of job opportunities while the people we are nurturing today often falls into the same type. Upon seeing the wide gap between education and innovation, he realized we are developing children as future losers – they can only engage in low level jobs after graduation, which are replaceable by artificial intelligence. Therefore, he thought “Can I work on a school for the future?” and he founded High Tech High in September in 2000.

High Tech High follows the project-based learning approach (PBL). In the almost 18 years since the school is founded, a total of 18 schools have been established and produced fruitful results: 1.The average results of the students are 10% higher than that of the same district. 2. University admission rate of the students is 98%, which is almost all students are admitted. This illustrates PBL is highly likely to be a highly effective and more fun teaching approach with far-reaching implications.

The fourth from the left: Max Ventilla, the founder of Altschool

During the visit to Altschool, another innovative school, its founder Max Ventilla is in high geek spirit: “Almost all education innovators considered the future is a fast and unpredictable era in which technology will develop at an exponential rate and one is left with the choice of to change or not to, but one will not be able to catch up even if choosing to change. When all knowledge failed, only the way of thinking and individuality remained. Therefore, the approach of AltSchool is to create a self-adjusting learning platform through technology to nurture individuality and thinking. He also demonstrated his original business plans:

  1. Research on the schools’campuses and develop systems;
  2. Transform research results into products, work on a platform for United States and complete personalization of teaching;
  3. Promote the teaching approach and adapt to various schools globally.

 

Group photo in Design Tech High School

Group photo in Khan Lab School(可汗学院)

Group photo in ACDS(Almaden Country Day School)

Site Visit to GSV

Site Visit to ACDS(Almaden Country Day School)

The enormous size of China’s education market provides ample room of imagination for Sino-foreign cooperation. In recent years, cooperation between overseas education enterprises and that of China is becoming more frequent. Introduction of quality education resources and establishment of authoritative international cooperation has also become important means for educational enterprises of China to broaden their global market. CFCG will also leverage its strategic layout in education and finance to actively connect with and integrate global education resources, providing diversified services to education enterprises at home and abroad.

新聞中心
首控集團攜優質教育企業亮相ASU+ GSV全球教育科技峰會,推動中外教育交流合作

2018.04.24

近日,第九屆“ASU+GSV”全球教育科技峰會於美國聖地牙哥成功舉辦。作為全美乃至世界高規格的教育科技盛會,峰會每年都彙聚包括創業精英、商界領袖、教育政策制定者、慈善家、優秀教育者、知名高校校長等各界人士,共同探討合作及全球教育最前沿趨勢。

今年,ASU+GSV峰會的發言嘉賓包括:美國第43屆總統小布希;Emerson Collective股東、美國前教育部長阿恩·鄧肯;GSV創始人、矽穀著名投資人Michael Moe.;哈佛大學商學院教授、暢銷書作家John Kao等。同時,參加今年ASU+GSV峰會的各界人士達到近4000人,創造了參會人數的歷史記錄。其中,新東方、好未來、首控集團、噠噠英語、英語流利說、一起作業等國內教育機構亮相大會,共同針對中國教育市場生態、中外教育合作、中國教育市場的本土創新模式等議題展開深入討論,引發行業關注。

圖為:從左至右依次為:《哈佛商業評論》主編AdiIgnatius、首控集團副首席執行官賀慶榮、上海科技大學創業管理學院院長李玫、好未來CTO黃琰、耶魯大學前校長Rick Levin、一起作業聯合創始人肖盾

商界領袖共話教育未來機會,中國專場凝聚創新力量

“我們希望保證人人都有受教育的機會,讓他們所接受的教育品質一致,從而增進教育公平。”美國第43任總統喬治·布希在開幕式上強調了教育發展的重要性。美國前教育部長阿恩·鄧肯則深入分析了全球教育政策,以及教育移動化發展趨勢,表示要運用好這些教育界的“新生力量”。

Coursera高級顧問、前首席執行官,耶魯大學前校長Rick Levin指出,“中國教育企業與美國正展開多方面合作,美國也希望通過建立合資公司等方式,進入中國教育市場尋求更多機會。”GSV創始人兼首席執行官Michael Moe也表示,中國充滿了機遇,未來的機會在中國。

I在這屆大會上,能看到很多中國的身影:有 “一帶一路”圓桌論壇,有專門的中國展區,還有關於中國的分論壇。中國教育在投資佈局、管理體系、標準制定以及師資培養方面的戰略佈局,正逐步推進教育“全面的國際化”。

實地參訪創新型學校,推動中外教育商務交流合作

2017年中國整體教育市場規模超1.3萬億美元,整體市場保持著10%以上的高速增長。中國教育市場之大,為中外教育合作提供了更大的想像空間。今年2月,英國首相特雷莎•梅在為期三天的首次訪華之旅中,簽署了一系列教育合作協定,中國教育正迎來國際化的發展契機。

為推動中外商務交流合作,精准把握全球教育資源,探討未來教育發展模式,首控集團在此次ASU+GSV峰會期間,開展了“2018新銳深度拓展⾏”活動,其他無意見。在參與世界頂級教育科技盛會之餘,首控集團副行政總裁賀慶榮先生及其團隊攜優質教育機構、企業精心實地參訪三藩市、矽穀及聖地牙哥三地知名創新教育機構如AltSchool、High Tech High、Design Tech High School等,學習探討創新型學校的新穎課程、產品與辦學模式。

參觀High Tech High,(右4)為其創始人兼CEO Larry Rosenstock

在參觀High Tech High創新型學校中,其創始人Larry Rosenstock講述了他為何會開創這所學校?在做這個學校之前,他做了25年的風險投資人。這中間,他觀察到一個現象:機器自動化、人工智慧正在變得越來越好,未來會發生的改變是任何人都難以想像的。同時,新技術正在吞噬數以百萬的工作機會,而我們今天教育培養的人往往只是同一種類型。 當看到教育和創新之間鴻溝的時候,他意識到我們正在把孩子培養成未來的失敗者——他們畢業後只能從事一些低水準的工作,而這些工作正是人工智慧所取代的。所以,他就想:我能不能做一個面向未來的學校。2000年9月,Larry創辦了High Tech High。

High Tech High 奉行PBL,也就是基於專案制的學習方式。在建校將近18年中,開了18所學校,現已交出了漂亮答卷。第一,High Tech High的學生的平均成績比地區的平均水準高出了10%。第二,他們學生的大學錄取率是98%,也就是說幾乎全都被大學錄取了。這說明PBL極有可能是一種非常高效,更加快樂,而且深遠意義的教學方式。

參觀Altschool,(左4)為其創始人Max Ventilla

在走訪另一所創新型學校Altschool期間,其創始人Max Ventilla充滿了極客精神。他說,幾乎所有的教育創新者都判斷:未來是一個快速、不可預測的時代,科技會以指數速度爆炸發生,這是一個要麼不改變,要麼改變也不見得趕得上的時代。當所有知識都已經失效,留下來的只有思維方式和個性。他說,以前的工業革命大幅度減輕了人類的體力勞動,而到2025年以後,數字革命(digital revolution)將大幅度減輕人類的腦力勞動。未來的人才將更側重創造能力以及組織溝通能力。所以,AltSchool的方式是通過科技創造一個自我調整的學習平台,培養這樣的個性和思維。他還展示了他們原本的商業計畫:

  1. 自己開校區做研究,發現系統;
  2. 把研究成果轉化成產品,在全美範圍內做平台,完成教學的個性化;
  3. 推廣到全球,適應全球不同的學校的教學。

 

參觀Design Tech High School合影

參觀Khan Lab School(可汗學院)合影

參觀ACDS(Almaden Country Day School)學校合影留念

參觀GSV基金合影留念

參觀ACDS(Almaden Country Day School)學校合影

近幾年,海外企業與中國教育企業的合作愈加頻繁,引入優質教育資源、建立權威國際合作,也成為中國教育企業拓寬全球市場的重要手段。首控集團通過內生外延,不斷融合,打造教育+金融雙輪驅動的平台戰略。在開拓海外市場中,首控集團已先後投資了澳洲G8教育、韓國線上教育品牌Siwon School 、新加坡萊佛士音樂學院;早前,還投資於ASU-GSV教育科技創新峰會創辦者、矽谷最知名的教育和人才科技基金GSV基金,成為GSV基金的有限合夥人。在國際院校合作方面,首控集團與英國劍橋大學邱吉爾學院穆勒中心、英國西倫敦大學、英國貴族學校Kingswood、美國創新型學校Altschool等都已建立了良好的戰略合作關係。

身處數位化時代,資訊網路使教育發生了空前的變化、資訊碰撞不斷地產生著新的知識、資訊工具為整合知識帶來了空前的便利,“人人皆學、處處可學、時時能學”的社會環境與智慧教育空間正在形成。在雲計算、大資料、人工智慧不斷改變傳統教育理念及教育生態圈的時代下,首控集團也將積極探索教育與科技的融合,嫁接與整合全球教育資源,為教育機構提供更多的優質選擇。